Some of the awards that have been won.

Sakura Medal 2011

Awarded the Sakura Medal for 2011 in the High School category for The Nest. This is an award from international schools across Japan, voted for by the students.

Monash University Fellowship 2010

Awarded Honorary Fellowship as a distinguished member of the community in recognition of outstanding service or attainment in the arts, the sciences, the professions, or in civil society, for the benefit of the community.

Young Australians' Best Book Award (YABBA)

12 times

Canberra's Own Outstanding List Award (COOL)

7 times

West Australian Young Readers' Book Award (WAYRA)

6 times

South Australian CROW Award

3 times

Kids Own Australian Literature Award (KOALA)

3 times

Kids Reading Oz Choice Award (KROC)

10 times

Books I Like Best Yearly Award (BILBY)

3 times

Order of Australia

1995 Appointed Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) in the Australia Day 1995 Honours List for service to children’s literature.

Victorian of the Year — Western Region

1993 Won Western Region Victorian of the Year Award – presented by the Australia Day (Victoria) Committee. For services to the Victorian Community.

Australian Writers Guild

2 times

Gold Puffin Award 1992

ABPA Joyce Nicholson Award 1993

Angus & Robertson Bookworld Award 1993

Wilderness Society Environment Award for Children's Literature 1994

Prix Jeunesse Award 1994

Australian Publishers Association — Book Industry Awards 1997

Christian Schools' Book Award 1998

Dymocks Children's Choice Awards

5 times

Queensland Premiers Literary Award 1999

Kroc Awards 2000

No.s 1, 3, 4, 6,7 and 10 in the Top Ten Books

Dromkeen 2001

Awarded the 'Dromkeen Medal', for significant contributions to the appreciation and development of childrens literature.